Blurring the Lines

In the past few days two African-American men were shot to death by Police Officers who were white. Hillary Clinton, the presidential nominee of the Democratic Party, while chided for being ‘careless’ was exonerated by the FBI and Justice Department for using a private email server and incorrectly handling sensitive information in her email accounts.

I don’t know enough of the details in the two officer involved shootings to make a judgment. I barely understand my own email account and its settings so pronouncing a verdict on Mrs. Clinton is beyond my scope of responsibility.

What I can observe is that the lines of justice seem to have been blurred in our culture. Behavior that would bring some sort of reprimand for others is called ‘careless’ and no consequences are forthcoming. Officer involved shootings have taken the lives of two men – sons, fathers, brothers, uncles – before their time. In times like these my only recourse is to cry out to God…where is justice? King David’s words, penned thousands of years ago are more relevant than ever:

But when I considered how to understand this, it was too great an effort for me and too painful Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then I understood [for I considered] their end.” (Psalm 73:16–17, AMP).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

