Gold Give-Away

I was reading a detailed list of the dimensions of the temple Solomon built (2 Kings 6). Kind of boring. But then this phrase caught my eye: “And he overlaid the whole house with gold” (2 Kings 6:22).
Gold. Still one of the most valuable assets anyone can own (just checked: $1195.00 an ounce). And Solomon overlaid the temple with gold. Must have cost him a personal fortune.
And then I remembered 1 Corinthians 3:11-13,
“For no one can lay any other foundation than what has been laid down. That foundation is Jesus Christ. If anyone builds on that foundation with gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay, or straw, each one’s work will become obvious, for the day will disclose it, because it will be revealed by fire; the fire will test the quality of each one’s work.“
Hmm. Am I truly giving what is most valuable to the Lord? I just finished an early morning meeting – something like the 4th or 5th meeting this week. Am I giving my best time and energy to the Lord? Or am I giving my best to community needs and letting God have the left over time? Am I willing to risk giving God what is most valuable – my mind, heart, soul, life?
Lord, I want to be willing to generously give You what is most valuable…my time, my attention, and my heart.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

