This One Thing

I see them every day- three principles for better teamwork; five steps to more efficient systems; 7 thoughts for a happier marriage; and the list goes on and on. I keep looking for the article, book, or blogpost that will once and for all tie everything together for me and help me make sense of the complexities I face daily.

I have yet to find that one thing…but this may help. Oswald Chambers, in My Utmost for His Highest,  a book of 365 devotions wrote “The one thing God keeps us to steadily is that we may be one with Jesus Christ.” The Apostle Paul, some few years after the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ phrased it this way:

Brothers, I do not consider myself to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead (Philippians 3:14).

One interesting obsolete definition of ‘pulpit’ identifies the bow point of a ship as a pulpit- an elevated platform on which someone would stand and watch carefully the way forward for the ship.(http://pulpit.askdefine.com/, accessed on 3-13-14.) He/she was charged only with looking forward…not looking backward. I wonder how many hours I have spent looking backward and missed what God had for me because I was looking in the wrong direction!

This one thing…looking forward to whatever God has for me today…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “This One Thing

  1. Don Reeves

    Well said my friend.

Leave a Reply

