“For you said, “We have cut a deal with Death … when the overwhelming scourge passes through it will not touch us…the LORD God said, ‘Look, I have laid a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone, a sure foundation; the one who believes will be unshakable” (Isaiah 28:15-16)

I am not the first or the most original to observe that our cultures deal with death is rapidly spiraling our of control However, as I was reading these words this morning I was challenged about my own role in making a deal with death. Whenever I choose to sin I make a deal with death- claiming that I am exempt or somehow safe from the consequences of sin. Yes, I know that in Christ there is no condemnation. But I also know that where sin abounds grace abounds. However there is no right to sin so that I may experience grace.

My sin has consequences. My heart becomes a little more deadened every time I choose to sin. My spiritual sensitivity is a little more deadened every time I choose to sin.

The promise of this passage is that God has provided a Rock, a place where I can withstand the powerful temptation to sin, In Christ I have been granted the resources I need to experience life, not death. In Christ I have the freedom to know genuine life- a life that is eternal not just in quantity but in quality!

May God grant us the wisdom to see how sin diminishes and how Christ enriches!

Leave a comment

October 28, 2013 · 9:25 am

Leave a Reply

