details…details…details…

I recently remarked to a mentor that I think I’ve earned several post graduate degrees- one as a board member of Southern Seminary from 1993-2003; one in community organizing and facilitation since 2000; and another one in denominational planning and strategy since being elected president of the NWBC in 2011. 

This last learning experience has been rewarding and challenging. The rewards are many: meeting great pastors and church leaders across the Northwest; hearing the heart of NWBC staff people and their families; leading the process of discerning God’s man to come as our new Executive Director. 

This past Friday and Saturday I was with some of the students from our church at the NWBC Student Conference. Friday night as we were worshiping I was convicted that I was so immersed in the details of planning and leading that I was in danger of missing the majesty and greatness of our God. 

I think for most pastors and church leaders this is an ever present danger. Systems thinking, details are important as we plan and lead, but more importantly we need to take time to just be in awe of God and His majesty.

My prayer is to find ways to spend time in contemplating and meditating on the greatness of our God before I get lost again in the details!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

