Dispatches from the Edge…

Turned on my home desktop computer this am. A nice electrical fire smell came from inside. Couldn’t get past the memory check screen. Think the memory socket may have fried. Oh well. Thank God for a laptop. I can take it between my study and my home. Cindy called this am- a fire at the middle school- minor, no damage somewhere in the attic area above her office…can you tell it’s Monday?

Cecil Sims spoke at our church this weekend. He is extremely gracious and helpful- as always. He and I have not always agreed, but his heart for the kingdom of God is as large as I’ve ever seen.

Still feeling overwhelmed by all the responsibilities and tasks I’ve undertaken. Don’t know if I’ll ever get past that. Interesting though occurred to me- I have an extensive ministry in the community. How do I equip our church to have an extensive ministry in our community? With all that is asked of a pastor/community volunteer/board member of multiple organizations/husband/father/son/brother/etc…. finding a balance of energy to focus on that which is truly essential- i.e. the 5% Wayne Cordeiro writes about in LEading On Empty.

Again, in Chambers, I read this today:When a man really sees himself as the Lord sees him, it is not the abominable sins of the flesh that shock him, but the awful nature of the pride of his own heart against Jesus Christ Chambers, O. (1993, c1935). My utmost for his highest : Selections for the year (March 8). Grand Rapids, MI: Discovery House Publishers. I truly need to allow the Holy Spirit to remind me of the awful nature of my heart that God might be free to transform my heart.

Well, it’s Monday…many other tasks to perform before Pastor’s Class…

From the edge…

Steve

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

