Dispatches from the Edge…

I find it helpful that I’ve been reading My Utmost for His Highest this year. As I wander through this season of ‘burnout’- which may not be the best term, Chambers speaks to me- as though he has read my thoughts. Today- I read these words:

It takes Almighty grace to take the next step when there is no vision and no spectator—the next step in devotion, the next step in your study, in your reading, in your kitchen; the next step in your duty, when there is no vision from God, no enthusiasm and no spectator. It takes far more of the grace of God, far more conscious drawing upon God to take that step, than it does to preach the Gospel. Chambers, O. (1993, c1935). My utmost for his highest : Selections for the year (March 6). Grand Rapids, MI: Discovery House Publishers.

Yesterday afternoon I was able to take a walk on the beach at Bandon OR. Today I’ll be in meetings all day- till about 8:00pm tonight. But yesterday as I was walking I was asking God- so, why am I here (not as it why am I alive…but why am I in this season)? I was reminded of two previous periods in my life where I felt this unsettledness. Once when I was 18 and more recently within the past decade or so- can’t remember the exact year. The similarities are eerie. All three times I have been uneasy, uncertain, and unfocused. The best part of the memory- I survived! There is an exit to this season. Maybe that’s all I need to hear right now. I am also reminded that in each season God is faithful and God is greater than I can think or imagine. Those two truths are my anchor, my solid place to stand right now. To know that God is working, that God is sovereign, that God is not absent may be all I need.

One other thought. Our church has been working through 40 days of prayer preparing for Easter. The vs for today-

Dear friend, I hope all is well with you and that you are as healthy in body as you are strong in spirit. Tyndale House Publishers. (2004). Holy Bible : New Living Translation. “Text edition”–Spine. (2nd ed.) (3 Jn 2). Wheaton, Ill.: Tyndale House Publishers.

Strong in spirit- the NASB translates this “just as your soul prospers.” My prayer for you- that your soul may prosper- even during lean times! May God prosper our souls so richly and deeply that those around us take notice!

From the Edge…

Steve

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

