Monday Morning

The first Monday of a new year. It was hard to get up this morning. Even my wife- who normally is perky and full of energy was not all that thrilled (i.e. she woke up at 12:30am becuase she remembered in her sleep that she had failed to set her alarm- she needs to be at work at 6:30am and her alarm was set for 7:00am…so, she did reset her alarm and was up and out of the house in time for work!)

A couple of days ago I was reading Frances Chan’s book, The Forgotten God, which is a GREAT read. I am struck with his comments on pgs 106-109 about why we fail to have intimacy with God, why we often live without a sense of the Spirit’s nearness. He wonders if we are too comfortable and if our lives are too loud? (Get the book- it’s worth every penny!) To ask the question so many have asked before, if the Holy Spirit were not present, would we still do all the things we are doing? I am too comfortable and my life is too loud (i.e.too many distractions). So, pray with me that 2010 will be the year that I – and our church- will discover the presence of the Holy Spirit by getting uncomfortable and ridding our lives of the distractions that keep us from having genuine intimacy with God.

How I long for a daily intimacy with God! Long for that with me!

Pastor Steve

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

